Tips for Carving a Jack o’Lantern (For Beginners)

Hello everybodyy!

Halloweens is merely a fortnight away and I’m sure the preps are on. As for me, I’ve already finished carving my Jack o’Lantern! As a matter of fact, this Halloween is my very first and I can’t wait for Halloweens and then Christmas to show up! It’s just so festive this year! 🙂

In my country, the ‘Halloween culture’ is not as widespread. So I thought, why not write a post about the Do’s and Don’ts of carving out a Lantern for beginners like me. Honestly, I googled so much before digging my knives into the pumpkin, as I’d never done (or seen) it before. A little prep and research never hurts! ❤

My first Jack o’Lantern sitting happily on the table 🙂

DO’S FOR CARVING A PUMPKIN

  • Its preferable to pick a pumpkin with a stem. The stem provides moisture and makes it stay longer.
  • Wash your pumpkin thoroughly in soapy water and dry it completely before carving.
  • Mark the lines on which you want to carve. Have a template decided in mind.
  • Use a sharp yet firm knife. Don’t let young kids handle them. Preferably, use a bread knife or a jab saw.
  • While carving the top of the Pumpkin, point the knife towards the middle of the pumpkin. Do not make vertical cuts as it’d make the top fall into the pumpkin.
  • Empty all the seeds out of the pumpkin.

 

DON’TS FOR CARVING A PUMPKIN

  • Don’t choose a soggy or soft pumpkin. Knock on it before buying. Buy one with no punctures and holes in it.
  • Don’t eat a carved pumpkin.
  • If you’re not confident enough about carving the pumpkin out straight from lines, print the template and paste it. Carve along it and it’ll be so much easier and accurate!
  • Don’t leave seeds inside the pumpkin. Scrape everything out using a spiral motion.
  • Don’t opt for complex faces if you are a beginner. Go for the basic faces and you’ll ace them ❤

 

TIPS FOR PRESERVING YOUR PUMPKIN

  • Rub Vaseline on the edges after carving. This will ensure that the moisture stays intact.
  • If the pumpkin starts to get dry and shriveled, soak it in water for a few hours.
  • Refrigerate your pumpkin by putting it in a plastic bag.
  • Keep the pumpkin as cool as possible. Use LED lights instead of tea lights.

 

I really hope these tips were as helpful to you as they were to me. Make sure you follow me for more Halloween things ahead this month. Thankyou so much for your continued support ❤

 

Happy Creepervity! ❤

 

Instagram: anishaloyall27

Facebook: Creeper Creativity

Twitter: Creepervity

Leave a Reply

